NA3HL News: NA3HL announces divisional alignment, events for 2016-17 season


FRISCO, TX., June 2, 2016 –The North American 3 Hockey League (NA3HL) has announced its teams, divisional alignment and events for the 2016-17 season.  The 48-team league will be divided into eight divisions (Central, Coastal, East, Frontier, Midwest, Northeast, South, and West) and will include teams in 22 states, stretching from Montana to Maine.

The NA3HL will be entering its seventh season in 2016-17 and serves as one of the top training grounds in the country by providing the best coaching, exposure and developmental vehicles available for student-athletes in its classification. During the 2015-16 season, over 100 NA3HL players made college commitments in the NCAA and ACHA.

2016-17 NA3HL Event Schedule:

NA3HL Showcase: Schwan Super Rink, Blaine, MN – December 16-18, 2016 (all 48 NA3HL teams)

NA3HL Top Prospects Tournament: USA Hockey Arena, Plymouth, MI – February 26-28, 2017

NA3HL Silver Cup Championship: Canlan Ice Sports, Romeoville, IL – March 29-April 2, 2017

The NA3HL has added 14 teams for the 2016-17 that are in addition to the 34 teams that played during the 2015-16 season.  13 of those teams were added back on March 4th when the NA3EHL announced that it was merging to join the NA3HL. The NA3HL also recently announced that the Missoula Junior Bruins had were accepted as the league’s 48th team and eighth team in the Frontier Division.

“The NA3HL set new records for scout attendance last season and our priority is to build on that momentum. With 48 teams in the League, our exceptional events will continue to showcase players and attract college scouts from across the country,” said NA3HL Commissioner Denny Scanlon.

Central Division (5 teams): Chicago Bulldogs, La Crosse Freeze, North Iowa Bulls, Rochester Ice Hawks, Wisconsin Whalers.

Coastal Division (7 teams): Cape Cod Islanders, East Coast Minutemen, L/A Fighting Spirit, Long Beach Sharks, Maine Wild, New England Stars, Northeast Generals.

East Division (6 teams): Metro Jets, Pittsburgh Vengeance, Southern Tier Xpress, Toledo Cherokee, West Michigan Wolves, Wooster Oilers.

Frontier Division (8 teams): Billings Bulls, Bozeman Icedogs, Gillette Wild, Glacier Nationals, Great Falls Americans, Helena Bighorns, Missoula Junior Bruins, Yellowstone Quake.

Midwest Division: (5 teams): Cincinnati Thunder, Evansville Jr. Thunderbolts, Nashville Jr. Predators, Peoria Mustangs, St. Louis Jr. Blues.

Northeast Division (6 teams): Binghamton Jr. Senators, Jersey Shore Wildcats, Lockport Express, Roc City Royals, Skylands Kings, Syracuse Stampede.

South Division (6 teams): Atlanta Capitals, College Station Spirit, Euless Jr. Stars, Louisiana Drillers, Point Mallard Ducks, Texas Jr. Brahmas.

West Division (5 teams): Alexandria Blizzard, Breezy Point North Stars, Granite City Lumberjacks, New Ulm Steel, Willmar (MN).

Click here to view the entire NA3HL article and the list of division alignments for the upcoming 2016-17 season.

Story Courtesy: North American 3 Hockey League (NA3HL): NA3HL announces divisional alignment, events for 2016-17 season (June 2, 2016)